What are the origins of the organisation?

It was founded in 1979 under the denomination “A.L.P.A.P.S – Sport mat Suergekanner*”. In 1981 it became a federation that  is called Special Olympics since 1990 but the original part A.L.P.A.P.S. has remained in the name. At the time, the idea was to provide regular sports activities to children with problems. Today, there is no longer an upper age limit. Anyone aged 8 or more can participate. We even have more adult sportspeople than children or adolescents and would be happy to have more youngsters. The term “Suergekanner” is no longer appropriated today. Every human being has abilities – disabled people as well as others. We don’t focus anymore on weaknesses. That’s also why we talk about sportspeople.

* problematic children

How does the federation work?

We work as every other sports federation. We are member of the “Comité Olympique et Sportif Luxembourgeois” (COSL) and affiliated to the “Special Olympics International”.

Except of one half-time administrative secretary whose salary is partially paid by the COSL and the ministry of sports, we exclusively function with the help of volunteers and donations. We need donations to finance our participation in competitions abroad. Flight tickets for instance can become very expensive.

Our 400 or so active sportspeople are supported by many volunteers that often spend most of their spare time for the organisation. In the disciplines we offer, we provide training sessions on a weekly basis. That’s why we need trainers that are committed on the long term. Otherwise it is difficult to guarantee one discipline over the time.

What’s your biggest challenge?

Inclusion through sports. We are convinced that people with intellectual disabilities have hidden skills. We give them the possibility to reveal them. Our athletes obtain good results and spectators are unable to see who is disabled and who is not. An inclusive society respects differences. An unlimited participation in sports and society is important. And that’s our goal.

www.specialolympics.lu

Comment est née l’association « A.L.P.A.P.S.- Special Olympics Luxembourg » ?

L’association a vu le jour en 1979 sous la dénomination « A.L.P.A.P.S.- Sport mat Suergekanner* ». En 1981, elle a pris le statut de fédération. En 1990, l’appellation « Special Olympics » s’est rajoutée au nom A.L.P.A.P.S. A l’époque, l’idée était de proposer des activités sportives à des enfants avec une déficience intellectuelle. Aujourd’hui il n’y a plus de limite d’âge vers le haut. Toute personne âgée de plus de 8 ans peut nous rejoindre. Nous avons même plus de membres adultes que d’enfants et d’adolescents et nous serions heureux d’accueillir de nouveaux jeunes talents. Le mot « Suergekanner » n’est plus d’époque. Chacun a des capacités – des gens avec un handicap comme des gens sans handicap. Nous ne mettons plus l’accent sur les faiblesses. C’est également pour cette raison que nous parlons de sportifs.

*sport avec des enfants à problèmes 

Comment fonctionne la fédération ?

Nous travaillons comme toutes les fédérations. Nous sommes membre du COSL et de l’association internationale des Special Olympics.

A part une secrétaire administrative à mi-temps qui est payée par le COSL et le ministère des sports, nous fonctionnons exclusivement grâce à des bénévoles et des dons. Nous avons besoin de soutien financier pour participer aux tournois à l’étranger pour lesquels les billets d’avion peuvent vite constituer une grosse dépense.

Nos quelques 400 sportifs actifs sont encadrés par de nombreux bénévoles dont certains consacrent tout leur temps libre à l’association. Dans les sports que nous proposons, il y a un entraînement hebdomadaire, d’où la nécessité d’avoir des entraîneurs qui s’engagent à long terme pour pérenniser les disciplines.

Quel est votre plus grand défi ?

L’inclusion par le sport. Nous sommes persuadés que des personnes avec une déficience intellectuelle ont des talents cachés. Nous leur donnons la possibilité de les révéler. Il est impossible de différencier une personne avec une déficience d’une personne sans déficience de par la performance : Nos sportifs sont capables de réaliser de beaux résultats.  Dans une société inclusive, la différence n’est pas effacée et doit être considérée comme normalité. La participation illimitée au sport et à la vie en société est importante. Et c’est notre but principal.